Reduse, Reuse, Recycle!!

I love this Jack Johnson song from his Curious George Soundtrack. It is such a happy little melody…

This used to be a salsa jar – good salsa, at that! I do have a serious love of  black bean and corn salsa……mmmmmmm….. 

Anyway, it occured to me the other day after throwing out countless empty jars that I should be saving these little guys to make presents for my buddies! Duh!

 So I started with this jar’s transformation by embossing th elid – which in its former life was a hideous combo of a yo-yo yellowish shade and some DOT orange – yikes! A couple coats of Versamark and Winter White ep (with some Dazzling Diamonds mixed in just for fun) later, it looks brand new.  I paired a light lime green Prima with a dark brown one, and put a pewter brad through them. They are adhered to the lid with a mega pop-dot.

Then I reached for a scrap of Prima patterned paper. On it I stamped some doodles by Rhonna Farrar using Bravo Burgundy craft ink. 

The fabulous scalloped ovals were a RAK from a friend (thanks Laura!!). The white one is also stamped with the Rhonna Farrar doodles, but this time in Certainly Celery classic ink. I stamped the sentiment from Blooming With Happiness in Chocolate Chip classic ink. I snailed it onto the Chocolate Chip oval, and put a couple monster pop-dots on the back.

 On each side of the ovals, I added some Hodgepodge Hardware (*note to me: go find list of names SU! just gave the pieces!). I threaded some fabulous brown and cream stitched grosgrain from Starlit Studio (link at right) through and frayed the edges.  

All done!

I filled this jar with an assortment of Primas – in tons of different colors, sizes, and styles. I’m sending to a secret somebody!!