Reduse, Reuse, Recycle!!

I love this Jack Johnson song from his Curious George Soundtrack. It is such a happy little melody…

This used to be a salsa jar – good salsa, at that! I do have a serious love of  black bean and corn salsa……mmmmmmm….. 

Anyway, it occured to me the other day after throwing out countless empty jars that I should be saving these little guys to make presents for my buddies! Duh!

 So I started with this jar’s transformation by embossing th elid – which in its former life was a hideous combo of a yo-yo yellowish shade and some DOT orange – yikes! A couple coats of Versamark and Winter White ep (with some Dazzling Diamonds mixed in just for fun) later, it looks brand new.  I paired a light lime green Prima with a dark brown one, and put a pewter brad through them. They are adhered to the lid with a mega pop-dot.

Then I reached for a scrap of Prima patterned paper. On it I stamped some doodles by Rhonna Farrar using Bravo Burgundy craft ink. 

The fabulous scalloped ovals were a RAK from a friend (thanks Laura!!). The white one is also stamped with the Rhonna Farrar doodles, but this time in Certainly Celery classic ink. I stamped the sentiment from Blooming With Happiness in Chocolate Chip classic ink. I snailed it onto the Chocolate Chip oval, and put a couple monster pop-dots on the back.

 On each side of the ovals, I added some Hodgepodge Hardware (*note to me: go find list of names SU! just gave the pieces!). I threaded some fabulous brown and cream stitched grosgrain from Starlit Studio (link at right) through and frayed the edges.  

All done!

I filled this jar with an assortment of Primas – in tons of different colors, sizes, and styles. I’m sending to a secret somebody!!

2 Responses

  1. And to think that I just tossed out a pickle jar yesterday that got picked up in today’s recycle box…love the Curious George Soundtrack too!

  2. Oh. My. God. Taylor, this is fabulous!! You are so creative…your color choices are so unusual, but they all look terrific together! what a wonderful gift for your “secret someone”! 🙂

Leave a Reply

