A Cased Card for a Secret Someone!

Yesterday Sara showed me an AWESOME card she made, and I instantly fell in love with it.  I have to make a bunch of cards this weekend, so I figured I’d cheat and case her design for at least one of them! Sara’s original card can be seen in her gallery – be sure to check it out and leave her a comment about it!

This one’s recipient is a secret, but I used colors I know she likes. Since Rich Regals is her favorite color family, I started by using a base color of Taken With Teal. I turned to my trusty color wheel for the complimentary colors of Certainly Celery and Apricot Appeal (and Soft Subtles is her next favorite family – bonus!).  The Certainly Celery layer is Cuttlebugged using the French Script folder, distressed, and edged with matching classic ink. The Apricot Appeal panel is also distressed and edged in its matching classic ink. The top panel is Naturals White with the Linen background stamped in Barely Banana (although it is hard to see in the picture!). I stamped flowers in Apricot Appeal with Pumpkin Pie as its contrast and Blush Blossom with Pretty in Pink as its contrast. The stems are all Certainly Celery. The word “heartfelt” is stamped in Taken With Teal classic ink; the same color was used to edge the panel after I distressed it. 

I used SU’s double slit punch to make holes for the Apricot grosgrain ribbon (SU). I also added Primas (from the October collection) to the bottom of the Apricot Appeal panel. They are attached with Celery brads from the Soft Subtles brad collection (SU). I could not be happier with the way this card turned out, and I hope the person getting it like it too!

 Thanks Sara, for your inspiration and permission to case! (And for all of the other wonderful things you do!)