My Favorite Card from VSN

This card was for a monochromatic color challenge. I am such a fan of using a monochromatic color scheme on a card!

I decided on yellows because I spent the afternoon outside in the sunshine with DD. So I was feeling kinda sunny 🙂

I started with a More Mustard base. I cut a piece of patterned paper that I have had since I started scrapbooking 5 years ago (see – it DOES pay to hoard!) that matched perfectlyand used that as my main panel. I like the subtle script it had on it. An you can’t see it in the pictures, but it has tones of all the yellows, and a hint of green as well. My next layer is a piece of So Saffron, Cuttlebugged with the Script folder to echo the printed paper. I dtp’d it with a More Mustard spot. My final layer, and the focal point of the card, is Barely Banana. I stamped the flower stems in Old Olive, and the tulip petals are More Mustard and Really Rust.  The sentiment, from the Delight in Life set, is also stamped in Really Rust.

I broke out my Crop-a-dile (man I LOVE that little gizmo!) to punch holes for the Primas. I used flowers from the “Flower of the Month” collection – October and December. The flowers in the middle on both sides have a hint of green at the center, to coordinate with the Old Olive.

I put both small panels up on dimensionals for some depth to the card. I also sponged More Mustard on the edges of every panel. I absolutely love the way this card turned out, and will be casing myself in the very near future!