Black Eyed Susans

  This is the last challenge card from VSN I’m going to share, I promise! This challenge, Run for the Black Eyed Susans, was hosted by MelenaPrincess (Kim). Check out her gallery here, and the gallery with everyone else’s entries here. Basically, her challenge was to use a Summer Sun and Chocolate Chip color scheme to make your card – like the flower.

I chose to keep mine pretty simple (as usual!). I started with a base of Chocolate Chip. I used my circle cutter to cut out two semi-circles from Summer Sun. On the larger one, I stamped a sentiment in Chocolate Chip ink, and sponged some on, too. On the smaller one, I stamped a Rhonna Farrar swirl. I used my fingernail to distress the edges of both of them.

In the middle of the card I stamped my flowers (flowers and sentiment are from the Best Blossoms set) in Versamark and embossed them using the Maize EP from the Earth Elements EP stack. To finish the card off, I added a fabric tag under the large circle, and some fun two-tone ribbon to the side.

Pretty darn simple! I am quite pleased with the layout – I can think of lots of possibilities for it, and will defintitely be using it in the future.