Soft Sketches

I made this card for Beate’s weekend sketch challenge. It is a really great sketch – check it out here. I haven’t done one of these in quite awhile and was thrilled to see that as usual, Beate had created something wonderful to work with. If you are looking for inspiration, there is a link on the right that will take you to the archive of all her sketches.

I started with a base of Wild Wasabi. How I lived so long without this color I will never know. I’m going to have to stock up on it before Stampin Up takes away this year’s In Colors! I inked up the Floral background stamp and “fingerwalked” my card base on it, to give it a kind of soft, vintage feel. Then I edged the whole thing with the ink, too. My next two layers are pretty straightforward – one Basic Gray (edged in ink) and one Regal Rose (edged in ink). For my image panel, I got a little fancy.

The panel itself is Confetti White cardstock. I stamped the large flower from the Morning Soft set (sooooooo lovely!) in Jet Black Stazon. I colored it with a blender pen using Regal Rose, Wild Wasabi, Ruby Red, and Marigold Morning inks. Next I masked it (tutorial here), and started on my background. First I crumpled up a bit of saran wrap, inked it up (using Basic Gray), stamped it off on scrap paper, and daubed it onto the cardstock until I had the desired affect. Then I repeated that process, only the second time I used toilet paper to soften it a bit. I edged the whole panel in Basic Gray ink.

The small sentiment panel was amde with the key tag punch, using one of the sentiments from Lizzie Anne Designs Sketched Sentiments (stamped in Basic Gray). I did the same thing, with the saran wrap and toilet paper, using Wild Wasabi ink. It is edged in Regal Rose. I added a bit of white ribbon with a slide to the card, and called it quits. I am absolutely thrilled with the way the card turned out. Love the coloring (which is an accomplishment for me!), love the gray background – love the whole thing!

The details:

Stamps: Morning Soft, Floral, LAD Sketched Sentiments
Paper: Wild Wasabi, Regal Rose, Basic Gray, Confetti White
Ink: Basic Gray, Black Stazon, Wild Wasabi, Regal Rose, Ruby Red, Marigold Morning
Accessories: ribbon, hph ribbon slide, key tag punch, toilet paper, saran wrap

4 Responses

  1. Beautiful card, Taylor. I love your crinkled background!
    Hugs and smiles

  2. wow, what a beautiful card, well done!

  3. This is very beautiful, Taylor!! Love it!!

  4. This is absolutely gorgeous. I love how you’ve coloured it. Joan

Leave a comment