Picking Friends

I didn’t think I was ever going to get around to using these fabulous Papertreyink acrylic stamps! For starters, I thought I could only use craft ink with them – so I ordered craft spots from SU. They sat unused as I tried to decide how best to get started.  Then a little birdie told me it was perfectly fine to use classic inks with them! I’ve also heard lots of people say they don’t get a good impression with acrylic stamps – too squishy. So I figured if the pros on SCS can’t do it, who am I to try??

Well, tonight I was determined to give it a try. So, with this week’s sketch challenge as a guideline, I got to work. I had already settled on the Green Thumb set. Then I started with a beautiful piece of Basic Grey’s new Blush dp. I am so in love with all of the new Basic Grey papers! From there I added SU’s Blush Blossom, Close to Cocoa, and Always Artichoke. I stamped the flower pot in Cranberry Crisp, and the stems in Always Artichoke. The flowers are Marigold Morning, Cool Caribbean, and Buckaroo Blue. I sponged Creamy Caramel all over the panel with the flowers, the Artichoke panel, and the Cocoa panel, as well as the base.  I distressed and sponged the sentiment panel, and mounted it on dimensionals. In the corner I added an antique copper nailhead, and on top an antique copper small spiral clip. The ribbon is from Starlit Studio (link at right).

All together it is a pretty simple card but that is what I am making an effort to do these days. Simple, and not terribly time consuming. My hobby is much more enjoyable that way!

2 Responses

  1. Very striking! I like the floral paper (is that the Basic Grey?) and the pretty nail head…who in the world would ever think of using a *nail* on a card!? LOL

  2. Oh, what a pretty card!!! I love Basic Grey…

Leave a comment