A Quick Sympathy Card

I needed to make a sympathy card today, for a friend who lost her father to cancer this morning. I have a hard time with sympathy cards, which I think I’ve mentioned before. As I am sure she will be inundated with cards in the coming days, my goal was for this one to be a little less traditional and not so…..something.

I started with the cute sketch Beate posted on her blog, Fresh and Fun, for this weekend.  The fantastic dp is by Daisy D’s – from their Attic Heirloom Swatches collection. I got it at Jacksonbelle’s store (link at right)! For the Chocolate Chip base, which is my also my background, I sanded it with a sanding block until it was soft, super smooth, and a bit shiny. Then I swiped a Chocolate Chip Stampin’ Spot in the same direction over the cs until I acheived my desired effect. It looks cooler IRL! I also distressed one edge of the mellow moss panel and kind of rolled it over a bit – kind of hard to see in the pic.

Hopefully this is soothing – that was my hope. I like it!

Supplies: Paper – Chocolate Chip, Ruby Red, Mellow Moss, Daisy D’s Attic Heirloom dp; Ink – Black Stazon, Chocolate Chip; Stamps – A Quiet Life; Accessories – Hodgepodge Hardware, Chocolate Grosgrain Ribbon, Watercolor Wonder Crayons, Aquapainter

5 Responses

  1. I am sorry you had to make a sympathy card. It turned out beautiful! I loved that stamp set!!!

  2. I love how you wound the ribbon through the clip and over the two edges of the cardstock. That looks so cool!

  3. Lovely card, just right for a sympathy card

  4. That is a beautiful card– I’m sure it will be treasured by the friend who receives it!
    Sue

  5. […] A very beautiful sympathy card here […]

Leave a comment