A Little Something for My Daughter

A while ago I went shopping with my mother in law at Michael’s, and we found THE most amazing sales. This little box was only $2.00 – can you believe that? We both got tons of other amazing deals. I love it when I come across a crazy good sale!

It did take a bit of work for me to turn it into this. The box came this creamy color, but everywhere it is now pink, it used to be green. I bought some acrylic paint in two different shades of pink, and used a foam brush to apply it. It took a few coats, but eventually it was all sorts of girlie!

I used Black Stazon ink to stamp images from Lizzie Anne Designs’ Once Upon a Time set. My daughter loves it, and it couldn’t be more appropriate – this box is a gift for her for her third birthday, which is Saturday the 27th. She’s been dying for a jewelry box of her own, and this seemed like the perfect idea to me!

I painted all of the images with Shimmerz paint – am I the last person on the planet to discover this wonderful product??? It is not easy to tell in the pictures, but they are all really glimmery and sparkly — I love it!

I’m really excited about giving this to her. She is going to be over the moon, I just know it! Of course, she has more than a few other things. But I just had to give her one handmade gift!

7 Responses

  1. Oh, its so beautiful. I’m sure your daughter will love it!

  2. This is totally SWEET! Oh, how cool… you are a BOMB of a MOM! 🙂

  3. Absolutely GORGEOUS!!! I know she will just love it!

  4. WOW! this is way too cute. love it =)

  5. This is so pretty and so sweet, Taylor!! I love it, girl!! Wonderful job!!

  6. Super cute!!!

  7. Oh my goodness! I so love this project. I love that you went outside of the “box” with Shimmerz. I just love to see how everyone is using Shimmerz. Keep up the awesome work!!! Would you want to post this on the Shimmerz blog?

Leave a Reply

