Orchid Butterflies

I’m so excited about the return of Beate’s weekend sketch. They are just so wonderufl!! I also love that sometimes I get a picture in my mind, and my card turns out exactly like that original idea. I don’t mind when it doesn’t  – the organic stamper in me is willing to let the card tell me where I should go. But when the whole thing goes according to my original plan, it is a beautiful thing. This picture seems to be working as well, so click on it for a larger view.

The butterfly is stamped using Brilliance Pearlescent Orchid ink on vellum, heat set, and then cut out. I adhered it using mini glue dots, and then put two small celery colored pieces of bling from MME on top of it, to make sure you couldn’t see the glue dots. I also used the bone folder to curl his wings a little bit.

I used classic inks to do the background flower on the Whisper White panel. The dp is Basic Grey. And my color combo came from the SU color wheel – I just added the Basic Gray cardstock for contrast and then subbed Bordering Blue for the Brocade Blue, because it tied in better with the Gray. I’m pleased with the way the colors work together!

Stamps: SU – Spring Song; Inkadinkado – Garden Delight
Paper: Bordering Blue, Basic Gray, Certainly Celery, Orchid Opulence, Whisper White, Basic Grey dp, vellum
Ink: Brilliance Pearlescent Orchid, SU Classic Certainly Celery, Basic Gray
Accessories: gg ribbon – celery and gray; 7 sided distresser tool; bling; bone folder; DD’s little fingers to help me tie the knots
5 Responses

  1. Taylor, this is gorgeous! I love soft colors and the vellum overlay.
    Thanks for playing! Hugs and smiles

  2. Wow, this is stunning…. love the soft look!

  3. Wow…this is absolutely gorgeous, Taylor!! Soooo awesome!!

  4. Taylor, your card is gorgeous!

  5. oh so pretty! love it! 🙂 love the distressed layers

Leave a Reply

