Tile Coasters

I made some coasters late last week, as an experiment. It went well i think. I used this tutorial from SCS. I opted to bake mine in the oven rather than spray them with acrylic sealer — I told the recipient about this and informed her she was my “tester”. So if it doesn’t work, I’ll be trying them with the sealer!

I made a couple of extra ones for myself so I could test it out, too. I could not decise if I liked them better with the script or without. Actually, the more I have looked at them, the more I like it with the script.  But I just could not make that decision last week. I’m awful at decisions 🙂

The coasters are 4″x4″ marble, purchased at Lowe’s for $.32 each. Not bad, huh? I also made a matching 6″x6″ trivet. I like this project quite a bit, and am thinking these might be a Christmas gift this year!

Stamps: Inkadinkado Wine Bottle, SU French Script
Ink: Black and Brown Stazon
Accessories: Tile
4 Responses

  1. They’re stunning! I too like the one with the script best but they’re both gorgeous!

  2. I like the addition of the script too. More depth. Hey no sponging! I’m so proud of you:-) I’ll have to check out the tutorial for some easy Christmas gifts. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. I love them both, but I think I prefer the script too …. it lends a more abstract effect. Gorgeous!

  4. Wow…these turned out beautifully, Taylor!! I love the images you’ve used too!!

Leave a Reply

