She picked it all out…

Blog Candy is coming on Monday!!!!

Lavender MermaidYesterday I posted the card I made for DH’s grandmother’s birthday. Well, I made this one to. But for this one, my almost-three-year-old DD picked out all the details. Her favorite Lizzie Anne Designs set I have is By the Sea, because of the mermaid. She declared (yes, declared, lol) that she wanted a purple card. I bravely unleashed her on the hanging file cabinet where all of my cardstock is — she “ooohed” and “aaahed” and touched every color until she settled on Lavender Lace. Then she settled into my lap to “help” make the card.

The card itself is unbelievably simple, because I whipped it up about ten minutes before turning it over to be decorated inside by DD and then hand delivered to the birthday girl. I used the only sketch I hadn’t done for the Lizzie Anne Designs Birthday Sketch Challenge.  I colored the mermaid with my SU markers (because I am the only person on the planet who still doesn’t have Copics — I can’t settle on which colors to buy!), cut her out, and placed her on dimensionals. On the panel behind her I used one of the stitch stamps from the Shapes and Stitches set, which I also used for the “Happy Birthday” sentiment on the long panel. I put a few Primas on the card, quickly snapped a picture, and turned it over to DD. I love my stamping time with DD!

Stamps: LAD By the Sea, Shapes and Stitches
Paper: Lavender Lace, Old Olive, Barely Banana, Fancy pants dp, Confetti White
Ink: Old Olive, Brilliance Black
Accessories: SU Markers, brads, primas, dimensionals
3 Responses

  1. How cute that your DD had to have purple and the mermaid!! I love your pretty sketch card, and all of your dimension!!

  2. This is super cute Taylor! I love how your daughter helped…mine loves to help me too! 🙂

  3. DD is following in her mom’s clippings – she really did a great job. Bless you for turning a 3 yr old loose to express herself.

Leave a Reply

