I Can’t Do One Layer Cards

**Countdown to the Lizzie Anne Designs Anniversary Celebration: 8 more days!!**

Purely Wild LifeWhile lamenting my decision to handstitch a card this weekend, a friend recommended that I do something simple, like a one layer card. I always love a challenge, so to the stamp table I went.

I quickly realized that I am just incapable of one layer cards. Everything I thought about just seemed…like it was missing something. One layer cards are an art form, and I am obviously in need of some lessons. This card was as close as I could get. I know there are three layers (well, four if you count the base layer). But I tried!

My main image panel is non-SU watercolor paper. I stamped the large flower from Stampin’ Up’s Embrace Life set with Versafine black ink. I masked the flowers, and stamped the leafy stamp around them. I used Purely Pomegranate and Regal Rose ink, with an aquapainter, to color the flowers; the leaves are done with Wild Wasabi. The sentiment is stamped on the same non-SU watercolor paper, punched out with the key tag punch. I sponged the edges of that panel with Wild Wasabi, and edged it with Purely Pomegranate. It is popped up on dimensionals. The stamp should be one long line, but I used my stamp-a-ma-jig and inked it up separately to place it on the punch the way it is.

I used my Textile folder and ran the Purely Pomegranate panel through the Cuttlebug. I added two jumbo eyelets to each “empty” corner of the image panel, and left well enough alone. I tried to be simpe, honest!

Stamps: Embrace Life
Paper: Wild Wasabi, Regal Rose, Purely Pomegranate, non SU watercolor
Ink: Versafine Black, Purely Pomegranate, Wild Wasabi, Regal Rose
Accessories: key tag punch, jumbo eyelets, cropadile, aquapainter, sponge, cuttlebug (textile folder), samj
Techniques: sponging, masking, watercoloring
3 Responses

  1. Uuummm, I hate to break it to you, but yes, you can because this is GORGEOUS!! Love it. Thanks for sharing your creativity with us.

  2. Beautiful as always – and very serene.

  3. It may not be a single-layer, but it’s gorgeous all the same.

Leave a Reply

