Inspired by a friend

Earthy Brown Carte PostaleYesterday I shared the beautiful card called “Bonjour…the Sequel”. My friend Helen over at All Things Stampy made it – she is a Stampin Up demo in the UK (she also happens to be many other things besides a demo, I just thought I’d post something about her that was stamping related!).  Scroll down a post for all of the details about that card.

What really struck me about it was the offset swirly thing (nice description, huh?). It just looked so….neat. And vintage. And I was immediately jealous that I had not thought of it myself, lol! I also loved her main panel, with the flower image paired with “Bonjour”. So lovely!

I was in a brown kind of mood when I made this (obviously). I used the Leaves a la Carte wheel on the Kraft panel, and sponged some Close to Cocoa very lightly on it. On the Confetti Cream panel, I started by stamping the retired French Script background in Creamy Caramel. Then I inked up the large swirly thing with Close to Cocoa, and stamped it on the right edge and top of the panel. In the lower left corner I stamped the fleur-de-lis in Chocolate Chip, but I stamped it off first. If you were really holding the card, you would see that the French Script shows through it a bit, which I love. Next I sponged the edges with Creamy Caramel (lots), and lightly did the middle of the panel as well. I went back over the very edge with the sponge and Close to Cocoa ink.

My smallest panel is also Confetti Cream. The flower and “Bonjour” are stamped with Chocolate Chip ink. I sponged that panel and the Kraft mat with Creamy Caramel, and after I distressed the edges I ran them over a Close to Cocoa pad. I put a piece of chocolate gorsgrain ribbon behind the panel (which is up on dimensionals), to help highlight it. Finally, I added a cutout bird, stamped with Close to Cocoa ink and popped up on dimensionals.

So, as you can see, I went in a totally different direction than Helen’s original card. But it was wonderful inspiration!!!!

Stamps: Carte Postale, Leaves A La Carte, French Script
Paper: Chocolate Chip, Kraft, Confetti Cream
Ink: Chocolate Chip, Creamy Caramel, Close to Cocoa
Accessories: gg ribbon, dimensionals, sponge
Techniques: sponging, distressing
3 Responses

  1. Ooooh, love your version – love what you did with the bird!

  2. W-O-W!!!! This is BEYOND gorgeous!!!! WOW.

  3. This is soooo elegant and beautiful!! I LOVE it, Taylor!!

Leave a Reply

