Best Friends in Blue

Well, it has finally happened – I made a card and DH totally hated it. I’m so bummed! I love this set and this super sweet little image. Apparently DH is not a fan of the image, lol. Once he saw how crushed I was that he hated it, he tried hard to backtrack and say it wasn’t the card itself, but the stamp. He tried to make it better by saying that he loved the colors, and the ribbon, and I colored it nicely. But I’m still crushed – first impressions are hard to overcome!

The color combos for this came from yesterday’s color combo challenge. I love the contrast that the blues and greens have – such a dramatic effect! I still have some dp from an old Simply Scrappin’  kit (I think it is last year’s SAB one), so I threw a bit of that on there, too.

I put lots of love in this card. It is a for a friend who is celebrating a birthday. Hopefully she won’t hate it too! Of course, her birthday is Saturday, and I just made the card last night. And to make things worse, I left it on the kitchen counter this morning. So I can’t even put it in the mail today — uh oh!! I’ll try to explain it to her, and hope she doesn’t hate me forever.

I chose this image for my dear friend V, because it reminds me of what we would have looked like if we were friends when we were little. Sadly, she didn’t come into my life until this past year! In the past year she has offered me countless words of encouragment and advice, and I wouldn’t have made it through some days without her. I love you dearly, V!! Happy early birthday 🙂

I watercolored the image, and left the rest of the layout pretty simple. Sometimes simple is good!

Stamps: Sugar and Spice
Paper: Blue Bayou, Certainly Celery, Soft Sky, SU dp, non SU watercolor
Ink: Blue Bayou, Certainly Celery, Versafine Black, Wild Wasabi, River Rock, Mellow Moss, Groovy Guava, Apricot Appeal, Close to Cocoa, Barely Banana, Bashful Blue
Accessories: primas, eyelets, gg ribbon, cropadile, aquapainter
Techniques: sponging, watercoloring
5 Responses

  1. It’s gorgeous. DH just doesn’t have enough estrogen to appreciate it. Thank you dear friend. Happy birthday to me indeed:-)

  2. I was just going to say that V will love it… and I see that she beat me to it!!! It’s a gorgeous card!

  3. This is so sweet, and your coloring is beautiful, Taylor!!

  4. Well, _I_ like this image and your colouring a lot! I like the whole card a lot. *grin*

  5. I just jumped over to your blog from SCS and I think this is a gorgeous card. It reminds me of my best friend and me forty eight years ago. Beautiful work….

Leave a Reply

