Birthday Balloons

DH asked for a birthday card for someone he works with, so I came up with this one last night. Although it is a fairly simple card, it took me all night long! I kept stopping to watch our Thursday night shows – My Name is Earl, Scrubs, The Office, 30 Rock, and Lost. It’s a big TV night around here, lol.

I used the recent SAB set Birthday Whimsy. I stamped the “happy birthday” sentiment repeatedly on the Whisper White using Basic Gray ink to create a background, and then stamped three balloons (also on Whisper White) and cut them out. The River Rock and Regal Rose balloons are mounted on one dimensional, the Pretty in Pink one (center) is mounted on two. I tied linen string around each balloon, and gathered it behind some gray satin ribbon that I tied through two jumbo eyelets.

The dp is from Basic Grey – I used two different, complimentary patterns. Other cardstock colors used were River Rock (base), Basic Black, Pretty in Pink, and Basic Gray (as a mat for the dp). Just behind the card you can see the Whisper White envelope, which I stamped the cake on (using Regal Rose ink). I know the picture isn’t terribly fabulous, but it was 11:30 and all I wanted to do was get in bed!!!

DH did call me today to say that the person he gave it to really liked it, which makes me happy.

5 Responses

  1. I’m not surprised that the receiver really liked this! It’s fantastic, Taylor!

  2. This is darling Taylor!I Love the balloons and layout! Love the new blog colors too!

  3. I should think they did really like it – it’s fab!

  4. I LOVE this card! It is suitable for a guy AND beautiful!!! (that is difficult for me to achieve). THANK you for the compliments, and I love your blog too!!

  5. This is so pretty!! Love the colours!

Leave a Reply

