Soothing Hummingbird

The other day I shared this fabulous tutorial for reverse topper cards I came across while cruising the gallery. It came from the genius mind of Melanie (aka melmel). What fun cards these are!

This one is a bit different from the usual reverse topper. I used my oval Coluzzle template, and made the cutout huge. I really wanted to focus on the gorgeous hummingbird image from the Spring Song set. I used this image on the card I posted yesterday, but only inked up half of it. This time I stamped the whole thing in Black Stazon and colored it using a blender pen and Groovy Guava, Wild Wasabi, and Blue Bayou ink. I sponged River Rock around the edges, and added handstitching also. I distressed the edges of both the oval image panel and the oval cutout on the Basic Gray card base. On the bottom right of the card, I added the sentiment from the set.

I really love how simple this card is. This image deserves lots of attention!

Stamps: Spring Song
Paper: Basic Gray, Naturals Ivory
Ink: Black Stazon, River Rock, Groovy Guava, Wild Wasabi, Blue Bayou
Accessories: blender pen, paper piercer, thread, coluzzle
Techniques: reverse topper
3 Responses

  1. Another beautiful card, Taylor. Your sponging is stunning!

  2. This is so beautiful, Taylor! I love your distressing, coloring, and layout!! Happy Easter!!

  3. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

