Finished Book Journal

I finished my journal the other day, so I thought I’d share it with ya’ll. It is nothing fancy, and I made some mistakes, but overall I’m quite pleased. In case you missed this post, I’ll recap the project quickly.

I started with a plain, cheapie little composition book. First I adhered a piece of Cranberry Crisp cardstock over the spine (well, I did make a couple of tactical errors on this step – that sticky strip means business!!). Next I cut a piece of Fancy Pants designer paper (purchased at Jacksonbelle Embellishments) to the size I wanted, rounded the outer edges, and adhered it to both the front and back with more red sticky strip. I suppose I could have used ModgePodge, or Zots, or cut the paper large enough to fold over the edges of the book. But I was lazy this week, and this seemed like the quickest thing to me. To finish off this whole stage of the book, I added a bit of burgundy grosgrain ribbon to the seam where my papers met.

Okay, on to stage 2! I wanted to separate the pages by months, so I could have a better record of what I read each month. I used my round tab punch to punch out tabs in 3 different colors, that coordinated with the paper. I chose SU’s Sage Shadow, Creamy Caramel, and Cranberry Crisp (like I used on the spine). I pulled out my old Antiques Alphabet to stamp the first letter of each month on the tabs, using Jet Black Stazon ink. I divided the pages equally, and stapled the tabs in place.

Now for an image on the front. I was all set to add some flowers, but then I decided that I really liked the busy pattern of the paper and did not want to take away from that. So I triple matted this wonderful quote from Nathaniel Hawthorne, which I stamped in Versamark ink and embossed with Dark Brown ep (I still can’t believe SU stopped selling that!). I sponged the edges of the Confetti Cream panel that the saying is on. It reads: Happiness is a butterfly, which when pursued is just out of grasp…but if you will sit quietly, may alight upon you. Perfect for a book journal, I thought! The stamp is from the Butterfly of Happiness set.

I’m quite pleased to report that I am on my 5th book for this month, and not including the one I am currently reading I have finished 2317 pages so far this year!

7 Responses

  1. I love your journal, Taylor!! That paper is so pretty!

  2. Sweet….Love everything about this!!!

  3. It turned out beautifully!

  4. VERY pretty!!! Love the dp!!

  5. Beautiful. I have wanted to do some kind of book journal. I like the idea of dividing it into months. TFS

  6. Hello,
    I love your journal. It is beautiful and very well done. I have fun making these inexpensive composition book journals too. It’s a good way for me to play and learn techniques.

    Louise

  7. How stunning! Love the colours & dp and what a great look with the tabs! :0)

Leave a Reply

