The Beginnings of a Project

It’s chilly at my house today — it appears our heat pump (or blower, to be more precise) is one the fritz. And we aren’t sure when the repair guy can get here. So, I’m not doing too much other than cuddling on the couch with my family, watching tv. Which is all I really feel up to doing, anyway. I thought I’d share a little project that is still in the works with you, so you can see how things go from start to finish.

I bought these Mead composition books way back in late August, when school supplies were on sale. I think I might have paid $.50 a piece for them at the hated Wal-Mart. I put them in my”supply armoire” (which is an old armoire I put some hanging shelves in and use to store stuff that is waiting to be altered – frames, boxes, jars, candles, etc) and sort of forgot about them.

Well, I got more than a few books for Christmas. DH spoiled me rotten! It occured to me that it would befun to keep a “book journal” to write down any thoughts I had about the book, and also to have a list of the books I’d read throughout the year. Enter this little composition book. I knew I’d never be able to use it plain, like it was. Although it is more tolerable to me than those marbled-looking ones. Those are awful! No offense, of course, to anyone who absolutely loves the marbled look 😉

I figured it would be easy to slap some paper onto this thing and call it done. As usual, I forgot about all of the things that could go wrong.

The thing about Sticky Strip (the red adhesive) is that it really means business. So accident prone people like me can’t neatly pull up the paper to fix things. I’ll live with the less than perfect job I did covering the binding, though. I mean, hey – it’s my first book!

I used Cranberry Crisp cardstock to cover the spine, and the gorgeous designer paper is by Fancy Pants. I used a corner rounder to round the outer edges, and slapped on a piece of burgundy grosgrain ribbon at the seam. I really am stressed out about the way I messed up the binding, but the book is just for me, so I guess I’ll live with it. The book still functions fine.

I’m going to add some stamping to it, I’m just not sure what images yet. And I’m going to make tabs to partition off sections for each month, so it will be easy to flip to. Hopefully I can have that done and posted in the next couple of days! I’m already 5 books into this year, so I need to hurry up and get this prject done, to give myself somewhere to write it all down.

Ok, back to snuggling. Thanks for stopping by!

5 Responses

  1. sorry about your heat!

    I LOVE this look. I did one for a prayer request/note taking journal to take to church with my Bible. I love it.

    I wish I hadn’t put a title on it though, because I’ve ended up using it for things besides just “prayer requests”. I love your idea of tabbing. I should probably have done something like that, though I’m not sure they would have stood the abuse of travel.

    Blessings!
    Maggie

  2. You’ve used such pretty paper for your book!! Love it, Taylor!

    I sure hope your heat comes back on soon!!

  3. What a great idea. I have four, marbled ugly colors, but they were only 25 cents ha ha. Anyway you’ve inspired me to get one out and play with some papers I have been lovingly stroking but not using. Basic Grey here I come.

    Now since I won’t be reading what with a new boy on the way in five weeks what can I use it for? Hmmmm…..

  4. It’s great, Taylor! Can’t wait to see the next stage!

  5. […] is nothing fancy, and I made some mistakes, but overall I’m quite pleased. In case you missed this post, I’ll recap the project […]

Leave a Reply

