Baby Announcements, Part I

Let me start off by saying that the pictures are a little lackluster, and I’m sorry. My poor sweet little one has had the throw ups about every 20 minutes since 9:30 last night, so I’m just thrilled I got pictures at all. She seems to be doing a little better, but this funky bug has done quite the number on my household this week! And I hate to see her sick – she gets so darn sad!

Ok, now on to the cards. My sister-in-law had this beautiful baby girl at the end of November. I was supposed to finished with the baby announcements a little a week ago, but that is when we all started to get sick. So, as usual, I’m behind. This is the first version I did for them – there are about 25 of these pocket cards. I hand-stitched the sides closed using pink and green thread (talk about time consuming!) — I love the look of hand-stitching. Which is probably why I do it all the time! I stamped the little hands from the I’m Here set using Pretty in Pink ink on to Whisper White paper, cut them out, and mounted them on dimensionals, for depth. I used paper from the Stampin Up retired Simply Scrappin’ kit called Just Delightful. It’s perfect for girlie things!

If you’ve never made a pocket card before, here is an excellent tutorial that Beate wrote for SCS. I love these cards – they don’t really take too much longer than a regular fold card (unless, of course, you are goofy like I am and decide to hand-stitch them all shut, lol) and they just look so cute when they are done!

To make the insert for the card, I used my corner rounder punch on the top corners, and stapled a tab (using the round tab punch) at the top, to pull out the insert. I sponged pink ink around the edges, and adhered the picture and the important details (that are computer generated, squeezing the last drop of ink out of my printer).

And to my immense relief, the last bout of the throw ups missed the whole stack of these by about 5 inches. Whew. Guess the temporary home I gave them was not, in fact, out of the danger zone! Tomorrow I will post the other design I did, which I also really love. It is pretty simple, but sometimes simple is good!

3 Responses

  1. Gorgeous card. I love the handstitching.

  2. I’m so sorry your little one has been sick! My 6 year old, and a bug yesterday, but seems to have bounced back today.

    Your baby card is so amazing and special!! Love it!

  3. Taylor, Taylor, Taylor… have you never heard the phrase “keep it simple”? It’s a phrase specially coined for people who need to make cards in bulk. Your pocket card is absolutely stunning – as usual – but you can’t possibly make 25 of these! Not with hand-stitching!!!!! (Hope AG is on the mend today)

Leave a Reply

