A Monochromatic Challenge

Today’s Ways to Use It Challenge, hosted by Julia S, is to make a card using a monchromatic color scheme. I so love to do this!! I’m also rather overwhelmed making gifts for people for the holidays, so I thought I would take this opportunity to sit down, relax, and break out a brand new set of stamps. This one is called Embrace Life, and it will be in the new catalog that Stampin’ Up is releasing January 1st.

I really tried hard to go back to the basics with this card, and focus on the paper, the stamps, and the ink. Not so much the embellishments and glitzy stuff. Rarely do I absolutely love one of my cards, by I truly *heart* this one!! So simple and lovely, I think!

I chose the warm reds as my monochromatic scheme. My image panels are both Confetti Cream – I ran the larger one through the Cuttlebug and then ran my Cameo Coral ink pad over the raised parts. Then I sponged some Cranberry Crisp on it. I also sponged the life out of all the other pieces!!It is hard to tell in the picture, but there is tons of depth to this card.

As a bonus (for me) this card also uses this week’s Sketch Challenge, which was posted yesterday. I love to combine challenges! The fine print for this card is listed below. Thanks for stopping by!

Stamps: Embrace Life
Paper: Cranberry Crisp, Ruby Red, cameo Coral, Confetti Cream
Ink: Ruby Red, Cranberry Crisp, Cameo Coral
Accessories: thread, paper piercer/mat pack, cuttlebug, large oval punch, aquapainter, WWC
Techniques: dtp, sponging, handstitching
6 Responses

  1. I LOVE this, Taylor! The colours are so rich and warm and your sponging ROCKS!

  2. Gorgeous colours! Great card.

  3. I love your monochromatic card! So beautiful!

  4. Oh wow! This is absolutely stunning! Great design and beautiful monochromatic design. Love it!

  5. Very lovely. Great job on using the stamps to make the backgrounds!

  6. Wow! This is fabulous!

Leave a Reply

