A Bunch of Winos!

I’ve discovered that there are some stamps that are just perfect beyond words for some people. Well, as much as I love Winobella and wish she was my match, she isn’t (although she and I do share a deep love of wine!). She is, however, the perfect match for my mother-in-law. I kid you not! Yes, my mother-in-law looks that good in fabulous dresses in all shades of bright colors, and can perfectly balance two wine glasses and a bottle while standing on one leg. And do a million other fun things, too.

And so, to celebrate my mother-in-law’s fun loving spirit, I made her a set of Winobella cards for Christmas. I broke into my stash of Bold Brights cardstock, and paired it with some simple black and white printed paper. I stole my sketch from one of the Bella Sketch Challenges that Jamie, aka jaymerz, posts on SCS. I tweaked it a bit – switched the sentiment to the other side of the main panel, and used flowers instead of the longer, word-window-looking extras (and switched those to the other side as well). But because my sketch idea originated from Jamie’s super cute idea, I want to give credit where credit is due!

I started with a base of Naturals White, and layered on a panel of cardstock from the Bold Brights family. In this picture, at right (which I have named PixieBella), I used Pixie Pink as my accent color. It was a stretch to make myself use Bold Brights (BB) in the middle of winter — I usually only reach for them during the hot summer months! On top of my large panel of a BB color I used two smaller pieces of black and white printed paper, from a huge slab of Scrapworks paper I got on sale at Hobby Lobby.

 I stamped my Bellas in Black Stazon on small panels of Naturals White, and colored them all using my SU Markers. After I ticket-punched the corners, I sponged on the same color that I colored the dress with.

I perused my never-ending stash of Primas until I found the ones that complemented the Bold Brights family just right. I used my Crop-a-dile to punch two holes, and attached the flowers with small silver SU brads.

In the middle of each card, along the seam where the two panels of patterned paper, I put a bit of ribbon. Some are plain, some are the fun organdy polka dot, and one is funky green with white stitching — a perfect match to the Green Galore!

For the sentiments, I punched a large oval out of Bazzill textured black cardstock. I stamped a small sentiment on Naturals White again (also using Black Stazon) and edged them with whatever ink color the Bella’s dress was. I layered the small oval on the large one, and called it a day!

I really really really love this set of cards! Secretly I was hoping she’d hate them, so I could keep them all to myself. But she loved them (at least, she pretended to love them!!!) when she opened them today. So I suppose I’ll just have to make myself some more!

 We had an early holiday celebration at our house, because my sister-in-law just had a beautiful baby girl and my in-laws will be traveling out west to see them for Christmas. Oh how I wish I could go hold that little sweetie! I’ll just settle (happily) for cuddling with my not-so-little, but still definitely lovable 2 year old. And I’ll cross my fingers she can go without a temper tantrum for a day or so.

One Response

  1. They’re all darling! Gotta love the Bellas…even the winos, lol! I love all the fun colors and the Primas!!

Leave a Reply

