Holiday Cards are Coming!

Sunday was my 29th birthday. *sob* — my last year in my 20’s! I joke, though. I think I am taking getting older fairly well. My darling DH let me sleep in (well, DD only put up with that until 8:15, and then she HAD to bring me breakfast in bed, which was a slice of plastic pizza she “baked” in her kitchen), and then told me I could spend some time stamping, and he’d do potty-training/pull-up duty! I love you, honey – you are a great husband!

I started my day-of-stamping with the Featured Stamper challenge on SCS. The featured stamper was Shelly, aka papermoon04, who happens to be an incredible stamper! Because I was in the mood to make some holiday cards, I chose her Tre Triptych Wishes card to case. I was just bowled over by her gorgeous original!

I stamped the French Flair background tone-on-tone on the Bordering Blue card base before I used Silver EP to emboss the french Script background. It is kind of hard to see in the picture, but it makes for a really neat effect. And although the embossing looks gold, I assure you it is silver!

I really love the color combo I ended up choosing – Bordering Blue, Vintage Violet, and Elegant Eggplant. The silver accents it so well, and while here it makes for a great holiday card I can see using it for other occasions, like springtime cards. The watercoloring didn’t take too long because the image is fairly simple. Honestly, tying those darn grosgrain ribbons is what took me the longest! I fiddled and faddled until I finally got it right. I settled on tying the different colors together – the knots look so neat!

The deets:

Stamps: French Flair, French Script, Holy Triptych, Baroque Motifs, AYC
Paper: Bordering Blue, Vintage Violet, Elegant Eggplant, Naturals White
Ink: Versamark, Bordering Blue, Black Stazon
Accessories: WWC, Aquapainter, Silver EP, Sakura Glitter Pen (gold), distresser, gg ribbons
Techniques: heat embossing, watercoloring, distressing
One Response

  1. Beautiful!! Happy belated birthday!

Leave a Reply

