Delightful Friend

I made this card for Beate’s Weekend Sketch Challenge. What a great sketch it is!!!! I love simple and easy – this sketch will get loads of use! I made my card a 4.25″ square, just to do something different last night.

My base is Chocolate Chip. The fabulous patterened paper is from basic Grey’s Mellow line. I got it at Paper Manor, which is a great new store I’ve discovered! To highlight my main panel I chose Old Olive and Cool Caribbean cardtock. The Very Vanilla panel has two flowers on it – one stamped directly on the cardstock and watercolored with Taken with Teal reinkers, and the other is a popped up, clear embossed flower (I mixed clear powder and iridescent ice for a bit of sparkle). I like the offset look! I also used a sponge dauber to add some Tim Holtz Ranger Distresser Ink in the Walnut Stain color to the edges.

The sentiment in the corner is from a Studio G set I got a Michael’s – you just can’t beat those $1 stamps!!!! I got a little ambitious and decided to hand stitch the edges of the cardtock to the Mellow paper. It took awhile, but I am thrilled with the way it ended up looking. I’ve lsot a piece of my sewing machine, which is why I can’t machine stitch. Maybe I’ll look into one of those tiny ones (Heidi Swapp, maybe? Are they useful?)

This really turned out to be a quick and cute little notecard; I think I might make a set of them to give away!

6 Responses

  1. Fab card, love those colours together

  2. Pretty! The hand stitching is such a nice detail.

  3. OOOH!! GORGEOUS!!! I love the colors and paper! So pretty!

  4. This is beautiful, and I really love that patterned paper! Awesome!

  5. Love this card! It’s so striking. Love the paper, the main flower and the stitching. Hugs and smiles

  6. This is gorgeous! I love that flower!

Leave a Reply

