Stamping on Candles!!

Who knew this was so stinkin’ easy??? Why didn’t anyone clue me in sooner???? I love it!!!! I am totally doing the happy dance —> about this fun and easy gift to make! So if you know me, be prepared to get one of these as a gift in the near future! This whole thing started when my friend karen (kthaman) decided on this as her challenge for VSN. Details about her challenge are here in her chat thread, and the Master Challenge thread is here. Check them out!

She linked to a great tutorial (which can be found here) with super easy to follow instructions. And I actually had everything I needed (except the candle!) here in the house.

For the first candle I did, to the right, I stamped the hibiscus flower from Do the Hula in Tempting Turquoise ink on my tissue paper. I cut it out, put it on the candle, and heated! There are 4 flowers on the candle. I left it plain because the candle is small. My second candle, which I like waaaaaay more, is a taller candle. I stamped the largest image from Thankful Thoughts in Black Stazon on the tissue paper, and colred it with Watercolor Wonder Crayons and a blender pen. The tutorial suggested markers, but I liked the soft look the crayons/blender pen achieved. On the backside of the candle I am planning to go back and add a sentiment, but I haven’t decided which one yet. I tied a piece of brown polka dot organdy ribbon (courtesy of the fabulous Jacksonbelle) around it, and was done!! Even my DH liked this one – which I consider to be high praise!

4 Responses

  1. Very nice. Now I have to try it. Thanks for the link to the tutorial.

  2. Beautiful candles! I’ve never tried this. Yours looks great!

  3. wow that was easy.. just tried.. thanks you very much…
    just one question is for decorative purpose only or can you use the candle..

  4. […] hosted a challenge that called for stamping on candles. I posted the ones I did for that challenge here. She linked to a fabulous SCS tutorial which taught me everything I needed to know in easy to […]

Leave a Reply

