I Can’t Wait for VSN!!!

I’m so excited about VSN! It’s approaching so quickly! If you don’t know about it, click here for details! Karen (kthaman) hosted a prechallenge on Friday the 17th to help get other people excited too. And what a fantabulous challenge she came up with!!!!! She used JanTInk’s wiper card tutorial to show everyone how to get started….and left the creativity wide open!

Since I am soooooooooo over the heat and humidity and have moved onto wishing for fall on a regular basis, I stuck with the “Jumping Into Fall” theme that we picked for VSN. It helped cool me off a bit today! I’ve never made a wiper card before this one – what fun!! They are so surprisingly easy – everyone should try it at least once.

My color scheme is fall-ish – Cranberry Crisp and Marigold Morning, with Naturals White for some “pop”. I had to stay within the 45 minute time limit for each VSN challenge, which made finishing all of the details I wanted to put on the card tough. Between DD, phone calls, DD, potty breaks, DD, snack breaks, DD, and more DD (she wanted to help so badly!) I think I made the card in 90 30-second shifts! But I do love the way it turned out.

The stamp set is called Basket Full of Fun. To color the leaves, I used Cranberry Crisp, Marigold Morning, Pumpkin Pie, and Really Rust inks and a blender pen. For the baskets, I used Chocolate Chip, Close to Cocoa, Creamy Caramel, and a blender pen. All of the images were stamped in Black Stazon. The ribbon, although quite dark in the pic, is actually white grosgrain died Cranberry Crisp – I just ran it over my inkpad and heat set it to dry it.  I didn’t bother to use my Stamp-a-ma-jig becuae of the time limit, so I am wishing the 3rd basket was a little farther to the right. Oh well!

I used my corner rounder punch to do the corners on the pop-up piece. I sponged some browns and rusts on the edges of it and the large Naturals panel, to “dirty” them up a bit. The buttons at the bottom are made by Doodlebug, and are tied on with Linen Thread. I used Black Stazon to stamp my sentiment in the bottom corner, and breathed a huge sigh of relief that I finished in time!!

One Response

  1. Cool wiper card! Perfect for the upcoming season, and I love those cute buttons!

Leave a Reply

