Finally…a card!

Seriously – this is the first time I have taken a deep breath in a week. I love my new jobbut boy does consume some time!!! And I’ve been so wound up about getting settled in that I can’t concentrate long enough to make a card once I get home. Which leaves me feeling even more frazzled!

So here is my attempt to get stamping again. I don’t love it, don’t hate it. It just is. I used today’s Color Combo Challenge as a starting-out point. Since I don’t have the new In Colors yet, I substituted Taken with Teal to go along with the Sahara Sand and Chocolate Chip (used for both cardstock and ink). I really like the color combo. Since I was in a hurry to get this done so I could get to work on the million other projects I have going on right now, I used pre-cut base, which pretty much dictated how my color scheme was going to work. I have a whole stash of precut bases – leftover “halves” form cardstock I’ve cut in half already. Quite handy, actually.

Further trusting my scrap stash, I had a large piece of Sahara Sand that needed no trimming to fit on the base. I don’t usually use this color as a focal layer like this, but it really does a good job showing off the stamps from Baroque Motifs. Towards the bottom of my card, on dimensionals, I added a panel of Chocolate Chip and Sahara Sand, stamped with sentiments from Heartfelt Thanks. Wonder when the last time I broke that set out was???? Before adding them, I ran both pieces through my Cuttlebug using the Texture folder. To finish it off, I added primas in alternate corners (with small pewter flower-shaped brads); in the opposite corners I left the tag-corner-punched edges exposed. At the top, a piece of white organdy ribbon gives just a bit of contrast.

3 Responses

  1. This is very pretty! I love the colors and swirls!

  2. i think you’ve done a superb job getting back into the swing of things! glad to hear that your new job is going terrific. i do hope to see more of your work, but will TOTALLY understand if it isn’t as frequent as before. Keep up the good work!

  3. Taylor, sometimes you just have to do it. I bet you will be happier with what ever you stamp next, but I think this is lovely.

Leave a Reply

