A Hostess Gift!

I noticed after I took my pictures that my favorite little person (DD) had inadvertently touched my camera lens – so there are a couple blurry spots on this pic. But seriously, it is too darn hot and humid to go retake it!

This is a gift set that I made a friend, who is hostessing a swap for a gorup of us. The theme of the swap is “Black, White, and ONE other color.” Well, I did Black, Vanilla, and Ruby Red. Gotta push those rules whenever I can!

The cards for the others in the swap are a bit different than this – they have black paper (dp by Crate) with cream flowers, whereas for the hostess I changed it up a bit and did the cream paper with black flowers. The card is a tent topper card – one of my favorite “folds” to use on a card. The only thing about it that is “fancy” is the edge of the Ruby Red oval, which is distressed.

To make the box that holds the cards (the design is called a Quick Box for 10 Cards & Envelopes) I used this template, which I found when I came across this beauty by sleepyinseattle. This box I made holds 8 cards, and no envelopes. I included 5 of the cards shown above, and 3 others that I made that were fairly heavy on the embellies — so they filled it up. The hostess is also a Stampin’ Up! demo so I have no doubt she has some envelopes around. The quote I used reads: “I get by with a little help from my friends.” – John Lennon

I really really hope she likes it!!!!

Supplies for this project: Stamps – Happy Harmony (card) and Sage Advice (box); Ink – Black Stazon, Bashful Blue (box) and Basic Black (card); Paper – Basic Black, Very Vanilla, Ruby Red, Crate dp (card) and Confetti Cream, Bazzill textured Black, Very Vanilla, Crate dp (box); Accessories – card: SU Markers in Basic Black, Ruby Red, Black & Cream offray ribbon, giga scalloped oval punch, coluzzle cutter kit/oval template, large SU oval punch; box: Doodlebug gingham ribbon, primas, cream brad; both: SU silver eyelets, corner rounder punch

3 Responses

  1. Lucky hostess! This is a wonderful set!

  2. This is a wonderful hostess set! Wow…I love the black and white with a touch of one other color. Beautiful job!

  3. These are so beautiful, Taylor! Your work amazes me!

Leave a Reply

