Oooh, I Love This Card!!

I was a busy bee on Sunday! I got several of the Dirty Girl challenges done, cleaned both bathrooms, stewed over an upcoming job interview, AND did the Featured Stamper challenge! This week’s featured stamper was lauraly (view her gallery here) – and wowza does she have great stuff to choose from! I picked this card because it just jumped right off the screen at me. She used one of my favorite color combos, too! It was really tough trying to decide what to change about the card.

I started by changing the colors – my base is Close to Cocoa (CtC), stamped with the Floral background in CtC Classic Ink. My next layer is Sage Shadow. For my focal panel I went with Barely Banana, stamped with the French Script background and sponged with CtC ink. I distressed the edges with my fingernail, and sponged then again after I did that.  I cut a triangle to fit in the corner, over both layers, stamped it with the Floral background image again, and gave it a wavy edge. So now I had the basics done.

Next I used Dark Brown embossing powder and Versmark ink to make the image from Carte Postale really stand out against the Barely Banana. On top of it, I layered three Prima flowers, held together by a pewter brad. In the three corners of the Sage Shadow cardstock that could still be seen, I used my Crop-a-dile to put Sage Shadow eyelets. I accented the whole thing with some beautiful Prima ribbon paired with a sating ribbon from AC Moore; the bottom corner has a decorative brad and frayed satin ribbon just to be different.

I have to say it — I adore this card. I didn’t take long to make at all, and I have been staring at it ever since I finished it! I might just have to keep it all to myself ;)!! I love the original too – thanks for the inspiration!!

7 Responses

  1. Your card is gorgeous, Taylor! I love it! Terrific job with the challenge!

  2. Wow!!!! You are scarily talented, lady!

  3. This is just gorgeous!

  4. gorgeous!

    love it.

    like helen said, you are a scarily talented lady!

  5. Oh it is positively gorgeous! Great card!!!!

  6. Ooo! I love this card, too! 😉

  7. Wow Taylor that is an amazing card!! I am impressed and may have to case it.

Leave a Reply

