Sympathy for a Family Friend

On Friday, a friend of the family passed away after a long and difficult battle with cancer. I made this sympathy card send, but it just doesn’t seem right. Then again – I never feel like sympathy cards are “right” – are they too much? Not enough? Wrong colors? Right sentiment? Uuugggghh.

So I went pretty simple on this one, and colors that I thought were nice – not necessarily dark. I watercolored the flower after I stamped it with Black Stazon on Naturals White cardstock. The leaves and stem are done with a Garden Green Watercolor Wonder Crayon, the background with a Bravo Burgundy one, the flower with a bit of Blush Blossom, and the inner stem is Summer Sun. I used an Aquapainter to blend it all. I clear embossed over it like 10 times – I was hoping to do the cracked-glass effect but it just wouldn’t ever crack. So oh well! It’s just super glossy!

The base for the card is Garden Green cardstock with the French Script background stamped in Garden Green Classic Ink. I layered Bravo Burgundy (edges sponged with Chocolate Chip ink) and Kraft  (edges sponged with Creamy Caramel ink) cardstock on and added some Burgundy grosgrain ribbon (from Ribbons and Bows Oh My! – link at right) around it. I stamped my sentiment on Kraft cardstock, punched it out with my Giga scalloped oval punch, and sponged on more green.

Now if I could only figure out what to write inside….

3 Responses

  1. Your card is beautiful! I’m sorry you had to make it, but I’m sure it will be appreciated.

  2. It’s a beautiful card! But I’m sorry you’ve had to make it, too – it never rains but it pours, eh?

  3. i love ageless adornments

    one of my favorite sets ever!

    beautiful card.

    sorry for the loss.

Leave a Reply

