Christmas Tent Toppers

I am on a roll today, ya’ll!! Thank goodness! Today’s sketch challenge happens to be a card I’ve been meaning to try for awhile – a tent topper. I’ve also been meaning to work on my Christmas cards. I have been kind of slack in my participation in the monthly Christmas Card Challenge. I’ve made up for this morning, though!

With my first card (at left) I had in mind a vintage-feel, peaceful card. I used a base of True Thyme cut to be 4.25″ square. Next I stamped my trees, from the Lovely As A Tree set, in True Thyme ink on Confetti Cream paper. I trimmed it to the desired size, and cut a mat panel fo rit using Cranberry Crisp.  Before I adhered the panel dimensionals, I stamped a sentiment (in Cranberry Crisp ink) and pinecone image (in True Thyme ink) from A Beautiful Season on the base. I added two brads at the bottom, and that’s it – simple and peaceful!

My second card is more fun, I think. I don’t know that I like it more – it is just different! I used a base of Sahara Sand, and the layers are Night of Navy and Bordering Blue. I stamped French Flair lightly in Bordering Blue ink on that panel, and highlighted it with a Signo white gel pen and a Sakura glitter pen. For the topper, I stamped the snowmen from The World Over set twice in Black Stazon ink, so they formed a circle. I colored them using blender pens and stampin’ spots. It is hard to see in this picture, but there are little stacks of snowballs that I put Liquid Applique on and dried with a heat gun, so they are puffy. For a little more oomph, I colored every other word using a blender oen and Bordering Blue ink.  I attached the circle – which I cut out using my circle scissors – with a brad from Q&Co.

So that is more holiday stuff crossed of my list! One of the cool things about these cards is that they fit in regular envelopes, just like other cards – what a bonus!

3 Responses

  1. Wonderful tent topper cards!! I love them both, and good for you for getting started on your Christmas cards!

  2. Very very nice! I really have to get to this challenge!

  3. OOOH these are both so cute! I LOVE the pine one especially! Thanks for the reminder I need to pull that set out! 😀

Leave a Reply

