A Mother-Daughter Project!

I spent some quality time with my daughter yesterday making this book for her daddy. She has gotten to the stage where she is dying to do whatever mommy is doing, so I figured, “why not?”! She is a really good little crafter – which totally surprises me since she is not quite 2. I’m excited about it though!

A while back I bought these Buck Naked chipboard lacing cards by Cosmo Cricket from Lindsey (jacksonbelle). Actually, all of the Cosmo Cricket goodies I used on this project, as well as all of the Primas, Prima chipboard, and Crate paper I bought from her. Can you tell I am addicted to her store? She’s having a sale right now – you should check it out!

I (well, we) used Modge Podge to adhere all of the Crate paper (from the Avenue collection) to the chipboard. After I cut each piece to size, I rounded the corners. Sweet little one painted the MP onto the chipboard, and she only licked the foam brush once! I chose two coordinating patterns that didn’t have flowers onthem, so the book would stay masculine for my husband. I used my Crop-a-dile to punch the holes out of the paper (and my helper picked up the trash on the floor!). Love that tool!

Each of the photos was printed on cheapie cream cardstock in a sepia tone. She picked out the pictures she wanted to use. After I cut them and rounded the corners, I went over each one with my Versamark pad, poured on some clear ep, and blasted them with my heat gun. Do you remember when photgraphs had the super thick matte finish and rounded corners? That is the look I was going for. Since my creative genius picked out all of the embellishments, they don’t necessarily flow as well as they could. But I think they look terrific! And she loves her some Primas, too. Had I let her be in total control, they’d be covering every page!

The supplies we used for this project are: Stamps: Carte Postale, Unfrogettable, Baroque Motifs, Smorgasborders; Ink: Basic Black, Basic Brown; Paper: Crate dp – Avenue Collection, Very Vanilla, Naturals Ivory, cheapie cream; Accessories: Black and Cream Offray ribbon, Prima flowers (assorted colors), Prima chipboard letters, Q & Co. brads, Karen Foster brads, SU black brads, SU round tab punch, Cosmo Cricket chipboard (Storybook line for “grace”, plain for the hearts on the front cover), Marvy Giga Scalloped Oval punch, sanding blocks, corner rounder, and a Classic Winnie the Pooh bottlecap to finish it off. Her nursery is done in that theme, and she looooves those guys.

To make lacing the ribbon through the holes a bit easier, I threaded them through needles with ginormous eyes. That was a serious time saver! We had a really good time making this book. And when we finished, I gave her a plain white gift bag and she colored all over it. I wish you could have ssen how proud she was to give her present to her dad when he got home – I don’t know who loves it more!

I will definitely be buying more of these lacing cards. I used all four of them to make a book, but they would be too cute if you just used two and made a stand alone picture frame. And of course I want to make a “girlie” one – masculine stuff is so hard for me!

2 Responses

  1. Just gorgeous! WOW! What a nice project!

  2. Beautiful project!! I love how the whole thing turned out!! Amazing work, Taylor!

Leave a Reply

