Same Sketch – Totally Different Cards!

I checked the sketch challenge today and WOW!!! What a cool sketch! I’ve never attempted a card with a layout like this, so it was lots of fun to come up with ideas. The first card I did, at the left, was inspired by the fabric tag in the middle. From that tag I chose my color scheme – a Brilliant Blue base, a layer of Old Olive, and a pinch of Bashful Blue to accent things a bit. The dp is from a slab of coordinating paper I received as a gift. I stamped the flowers from the Polka Dots & Paisley set on Old Olive squares in Old Olive ink, and the outline stamp in Brilliant Blue. I used the large polka dotted stamp from the set, inked up in Bashful Blue, to give each square a little oomph. On the large Old Olive panel I stamped the Harlequin background in Brilliant Blue. Added some Primas attached with large brads, some matching grosgrain ribbon, and poof! All done!

My second card is radically different. I started with a base of Whisper White that I ran through the Cuttlebug in my newest folder. I layered on some Basic grey dp and some polka dotted dp from the same slab as the previous card (ran that through the Cuttlebug as well). On more Whisper White I stamped the heart from Doodle That and the adorable monkey from Zoofari – both in Pixie Pink. I colored them with a Watercolor Wonder Crayon (Pretty in Pink) and a blender pen. The sentiment, from the Wild About You set, was a RAK from laurakj, so I had to trim it down to the size it is. I stamped the doodle from Doodle That on it, and then sponged all 3 with Certainly Celery and edged tehm with Real Red ink. I mounted each one on dimensionals, added some fabric tags, and was all done. I named this card “Pink Monkey Love” which for some reason makes me laugh hysterically.

3 Responses

  1. Great job with your challenge cards! Wow…you’re ambitious! Both are wonderful!

  2. Taylor I love both of these! They are fabulous,

  3. WOW, the cards are VERY different, but both are just wonderful!

Leave a Reply

