Feelin’ Kinda Frisky….

So I have had this box in my craft room forver. Can’t remember where it came from, or what came in it. I was feeling a little adventurous tonight, so while DH watched a SportsGuy podcast I decided to whip this up.

Let me start first with a very serious warning: NEVER, EVER attempt to cut out the swirl from Baroque Motifs. I don’t care how bad you want to – resist the urge. I promise, you’ll thank me for this advice one day. Really.

Ok, on to the deets: I have had this dp in my stash for over 4 years. I bought it when we still lived in Maine! It has waited patiently, biding its time, until just the right project came along. And this was it! I modge podged it onto the box (which is made of corrugated cardboard) after I stamped the large swirl all over it with Creamy Caramel ink. I adhered a piece of ribbon from StarLit Studio all around the top edge. For the box top, I applied a Close to Cocoa Stampin’ Spot directly to it until it got a nice, dark, consistent color. I stamped the square thingy in Perfect Plum on Confetti Cream cardstock. The swirl is also stamped in Perfect Plum, but I stamped it off once on scratch paper first.  The round thingy I inked up in Blush Blossom, and then rolled the edges in Creamy Caramel. Check out Jeanne S.‘s awesome rock & roll tutorial on her blog – she is the master of this technique (and I am nowhere even close to being good at it!). In the center of the swirl, I placed a large oval from the HPH in pewter box with the sentiment stamped on Confetti Cream as well. The small flower is stamped in Perfect Plum, and the word in Creamy Caramel. I mounted it on dimensionals and tied hemp twine on either side.

Now I am off to fill this box with goodies, and pack it to arrive safely at it’s destination. Hope it cheers someone up just a bit!

4 Responses

  1. Great card! WOW! I love the ladybugs!

  2. You are very brave to cut that out! LOL! Beautiful box!

  3. It turned out BEAUTIFUL!

  4. What a fantastic card!!!!

Leave a Reply

