Baroque Butterflies

Today’s Sketch Challenge is so fun! Details about the rules, the master list of other sketches, and a thumbnail pic of today’s sketch can be found here, on SCS. I really look forward to these very Wednesday because they give me a chance to think outside of my usual box. And man did this one ever stretch my thoughts this morning! Maybe 6:30 is too early to start working on these things!

I started my card by picking the dp I wanted to use. I have been eyeing this Fancy Pants Free Spirit dp (designer paper) called Antique in my stash for a while now, just waiting for the right card to use it on. I paired it with an Always Artichoke base, and mats of Chocolate Chip. I cut out the circle using my circle scissors, and ran both it and the triangle through the Cuttlebug using the Texture folder. The triangle of dp is the reverse side of the green with flowers. Easy way to match up dp!

Before adhering anything to the card base, I stamped the large swirl from Baroque Motifs all over it in Chocolate Chip Classic Ink. On a separate sheet of Whisper White cardstock, I stamped the swirly butterfly from the PapertreyInk set Butterfly Kisses in Chocolate Chip. After I cut it out, I sponged on Certainly Celery and Mellow Moss Classic Inks. I then used my bone folder to curl the wings, and mounted it on a dimensional. For the small butterflies, I used an outline shape from the same PapaertreyInk set, and stamped one of the coordinating swirls inside of it in Mellow Moss. I sponged on Certainly Celery and cut the three of them out. In the bottom corner of the card I stamped a sentiment in Encore Silver ink, also from the PapertreyInk set.

I tied on a piece of spare chocolate brown grosgrain ribbon that I got from Ribbons and Bows, Oh My!, and was all done. It’s growing on me – reminds of a thin mint cookie!

*all stamps, ink, and accessories used are SU! products unless otherwise noted

4 Responses

  1. Taylor, this really is a WOW card. Trouble is, you make me want to buy this set!

  2. This is really pretty! I love the colors and those butterflies!

  3. Hi! I love your card! I wanted you to know that you have been TAGGED. You need to list 7 Random things about yourself and then TAG 7 more bloggers

  4. Great card love the colors and that butterfly is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

