Scooter Gal

I’m trying new things this week! This is my first “Joy Fold” card. I got the tutorial from Beate’s blog, Fresh and Fun. She is one talented lady, I’m tellin’ you what!! her instructions on her tutorials make them so easy to follow, and she includes awesome pictures to help those of us that need to “see” things!

The Cool Caribbean panel with Scooter Gal (from Paris in the Spring) on it opens to the right (when untied). The panel with the Basic Grey Pheobe paper (cuttlebugged, and sanded for effect) opens to the left (when untied). I won’t got through the instructions and measurements – there is no way I could do it as well as Beate already has.

My base panel for the card is Cool Caribbean. I added one design of Basic Grey’s Pheobe paper to the right side of the base panel. On the folded over side, I added a complementary design (still BG, Pheobe) that I ran through my Cuttlebug and went over with the sanding block to highlight the embossing. So that is the base. For the small folded card, I also used Cool Caribbean (but I have seen some gorgeous ones using a coordinating color). I stamped the French Flair background on it in Cool Caribbean. Then I mounted the Whisper White panel with my Scooter Gal on it. I had previously stamped her in Black Stazon, and colored her with Watercolor Wonder Crayons and a blender pen. It is really hard to tell in the picture, but her sunglasses have Crystal Effects on them for some shine, and her earrings, the headlight, and the exhaust puffs are topped with Stickles for some sparkle. Because i stamped so many images on a page, it was impossible to cut this one out in a straight square. To disguise my angled cuts, I added Primas on either side, in coordinating colors. I attached them with SU silver eyelets.

To stay within the guidelines of yesterday’s Ways to Use It Challenge, which was to use ribbon in a new and different way, I put an eyelet in both the small panel and the large panel, and tied the card shut. The suggested way to help close the card was to put a stamped image on a dimensional there instead. I used new ribbon I got from Laura’s (laurakj) ribbon share!!

7 Responses

  1. Thanks for your kind words! Your scooter girl looks wonderful. I love the colors, paper and flowers! Check my blog later (after 10 a.m.) and add this card into my weekend sketch challenge raffle. Today’s sketch challenge will be Joy Fold cards! LOL How did you know?

  2. Love your blog, love this card, I will always love Paris in Spring:)
    Hey, I tagged you on my brand new blog, if you dont mind, check it out, it’s just getting started:)

  3. This is adorable! Love the papers, the embellies, everything! 🙂

  4. Oh how adorable. Every element of this card is just awesome!

  5. This turned out sooo cute! Love the colors and CBing!

  6. This is so cute. I love the colors.

  7. What a fun card! I haven’t used that stamp set in forever!

Leave a Reply

