Glitter Wings

For this week’s color challenge, I managed to make 4 cards with the same set of colors, and they could not look more different. I think I have decided that this one is my favorite!

The colors Emily proposed were Old Olive, Chocolate Chip, and Pretty in Pink. I started with the pink a as my base. I next added a layer of Old Olive, with the corners ticket-punched. The designer paper is SU Au Chocolat. It started out as brown and cream striped paper – I used my brayer and Pretty In Pink Classic Ink to color the cream pink. I ticket punched the corners of that paper as well.

My main image is the dragonfly from the Unfrogettable set. I stamped it in Chocolate Chip on Very Vanilla paper, which had previously been cut in a scalloped circle. I sponged Old Olive around the edges, and colored the dragonfly’s body with Old Olive and Pretty in Pink. For her wings, I used Stickles – a thin coat on each wing gave her some real sparkle! The sentiment is actually just the bottom line of a longer sentiment from the same set; I made the question mark into an exclamation point by coloring it in with a Chocolate Chip Stampin’ Write marker. Behind the vanilla oval are 2 Chocolate Chip ovals.

I used my Crop-a-dile to punch holes in either side of the trio of ovals, and to set silver brads in the holes. I threaded pink grosgrain ribbon through it, and left it loose before adhering it to the backside – I like the fun look it gave the card. All together this was a very simple card to make – maybe that is why I like it so much!!

2 Responses

  1. Great take on the challenge, I cannot seem to come with anything I really like. I enjoyed my first visit to your blog!!

  2. Oh how sweet!

Leave a Reply

