Patriotic Cards

Ok, so I am on a quest to make some patriotic cards – that’s what my mom has requested to give to my uncle. But do I have any patriotic stamps? Nope. Nada. Know what that means? I must buy more!!!! Hahahaha!

I asked around for some suggestions, and Laura (laurakj, Inky Dinky Doo) gave me a great one – use a vintage color combo. So I chose a Kraft base, and layers of Cranberry Crisp and Buckaroo Blue.  To make this fit in with this week’s Limited Supply Challenge (details) I reached for yet another unused set – Office Accoutrement. I forgot how much I love this one!

I adhered the Buckaroo Blue to the Cranberry Crisp, and ran them through my Cuttlebug. Can’t remember the name of the folder — oops! Then I used the too cute little spiral punch from the Spring Mini to punch down the side of a bit more Kraft paper. I sponged the edges with Cranberry Crisp and stamped a sentiment from Warm Words on the bottom (also in CC). I stamped two large flowers from the Office Accoutrement set on Naturals Ivory paper – one in Buckaroo Blue and one in Cranberry Crisp.  The Cranberry one I swirled around on the ink pad to get a distressed, older feel to it. Cut them out, punched a hole with my Crop-a-dile, and put them together with a big nickel-finish brad. Both the Kraft layer and the flowers are on dimensionals.

So while not technically patriotic, I think this one will work! I like it, anyway!

2 Responses

  1. Oh, I just love this! WOW

  2. Ha ha ha! Resistance is futile! Your cards are fantastic and I’m green with envy about the Phoebe paper – that’s been on my wishlist for ages!

Leave a Reply

