My First Gate-Fold Card!

I was checking out Beate’s blog (Fresh and Fun, link at left) and she has a GREAT tutorial for making gate-fold card. The one she made uses all new goodies, and is simply gorgeous. I wanted to make one a bit more masculine, and still a little fun. This one is for DH’s dad.

Since my focal image wasn’t square, I decided it would look better to orient that card horizontally rather than vertically. I also chose to slightly overlap my sides, rather than have them meet exactly in the middle.  My color scheme was limited (by me) to my scrap pile. I’m trying not to cut into any new cardstock until I’ve used up some of the bits I have strewn about!

I started with a base of Buckaroo Blue. On the inside of the card, and the two outer flaps, I stamped a swirl from Rhonna Farrar’s Swirls v. 1 in Buckaroo Classic Ink. I also stamped the swirl in Creamy Caramel Classic Ink on the outer Creamy Caramel Panel, as well as the edges of the panel I placed inside. On the Bordering Blue panels I adhered to the outer flaps I also used the same swirl and ink. I stamped the truck from Loads of Love in Creamy Caramel ink onto Confetti Cream paper. It is colored with WWC and colored pencils, and blended with a blender pen. The little guy driving is from the Loads of Love Accerssories set. The hubcaps on the truck are giant brads; the window and windshield are covered with Crystal Effects. I put the truck up on dimensionals, and put the hearts in the back.

To keep the card closed, I used the 1 1/4″ circle punch and a saying from LOL stamped on Confetti Cream. I sponged Creamy Caramel ink around the edges. It is mounted on a 1 3/8″ circle of Bordering Blue. I put both circles on a dimensional. When closed, the square panel tucks just under the circular one.

3 Responses

  1. Pretty! I really like how you stamped on the inside, too. It looks great! 🙂

  2. What a terrific card! So cute!!

  3. too cute!

    love it!

    i’m so neglecting my stamps. i need to create and soon!

Leave a Reply

