Adventures with my hobby blade

Continuing with my “simplicity” quest, I made this card for yesterday’s color combination challenge. In my mind, cutting out this image from the set Long Time Friend would be no big deal. Ummm, hello! What was I thinking!?

The colors for the challenge were Cameo Coral (used as my base), Chocolate Chip (next layer), and Certainly Celery (next layer).  I thought that a panel using Basic Grey’s new Scarlett’s letter line would be nice too, so I cut this beautiful paper down to size.

 I loved the paper so much that I really wanted it to be the focus of the card. Once I finished cutting out the watering can image (which, I am proud to say, did not cause me any cuts or nicks from the hobby blade!), I colored it with my WWC and used a blender pen to soften. I mounted it on dimensionals to give a bit of depth, and just layered all the panels on top of eachother. I added some brown stitched grosgrain (from Starlit Studio, link at left) in two corners.

Even though it took me awhile, I still feel like this card is pretty soothing and simple. I love the softness of the paper!

2 Responses

  1. This is beautiful! I love the paper and ribbon you chose to go with the image (which I love as well). Great job!

  2. This is beautiful!!
    Excellent blade work!!

Leave a Reply

