Summertime Giggles – A Great Sound!

I finally got some stamping done this weekend. I’m spending the next few days concentrating on some fun, simple, easy cards – not too many layers, not too many embellishments. Just cards that make me smile.

Here’s the first one of my little experiments – loosely based on my wonderful DD. She’s been laughing all weekend, loving the outdors, the pool, the hot summer days. And watching that is so fabulous for the soul, I swear!

I started this card with a base of Pretty in Pink. I added a layer of Green Galore, and on top of that a Whisper White panel.  I stamped three squares form the Shape-Ups set in the middle, using Pixie Pink classic ink. I did not use my stamp-a-ma-jig on purpose, because I wanted it to be a little off. Somehow it seemes more casual and sweet that way. After stamping the squares, I got out this circular image from Big Pieces and stamped it on top of them in Green Galore classic ink, again not using my stamp-a-ma-jig. I stamped “giggle” from Warm Words at the bottom, also on Green Galore ink. On each corner I used the double slit punch to punch two holes, and knotted some pink and white polka dot grosgrain ribbon through it.

All together, the card took MAYBE 15 minutes to make. And I love it!!! Something about it says “carefree” to me, which is excatly what I set out to do. Too often I get caught up in making a fabulous creation, with tons of layers and primas and brads and just the right dp. DD reminded me this weekend that those things aren’t important – it’s the simple things that are. So I’m having some fun with my stamping for a while!

3 Responses

  1. Very cute, Taylor!

  2. Great quick card! Great colors and love the ‘giggle’ after your DD! Cute!

  3. Simply perfect. I love your elaborate cards, too, though.

Leave a Reply

