Beachy Cards for My Mom!

My mom bought the Beautiful Beach stamp set so I could make some fun cards for her. Well, I got a little stumped for interesting , beachy color combos. So I turned to my friend Laura’s Color Combo site (also linked at right under odds & ends) to help me — and WOW did it ever come through for me!! I had already stamped the shells from the set with Versamark and embossed them with Winter White EP from SU on Cameo Coral cardstock. So I put in Cameo Coral as my only color, and voila….tons of combos! The one immediately to the right is Tempting Turquoise, Barely Banana, Pretty in Pink, and Cameo Coral. So pretty, I think! Across the bottom I stamped one of the other images from the set in Tempting Turquoise. The conch shell is up on dimensionals (SU), and the two-tone ribbon is from Starlit Studios (link at right) — love that brown and turquoise combination! I used the Simplicity Punch from SU to accent two corners of the barely Banana, and that layer is edged with a spot of the same color, as is the Pretty in Pink layer. I made several cards like this, and alternated which side of the card I placed the ribbon – some on the right and some on the left. It really was an easy card to put together!

The card immediately to the left uses a color for the base that I NEVER use. I don’t think I even really like it. But when I layered it all together, I thought it looked fantastic!! So more kudos for Laura’s site!! I love tools that help me go outside of my comfort zone. This combo is Green Galore, Tempting Turquoise, Cameo Coral, and Pretty in Pink. The Tempting Turquoise layer was run through the Cuttlebug with the Tiny Bubbles folder. I added some turquoise velvet ribbon from Jacksonbelle’s eBay store (link @ right) and an opaque shell I bought at Hobby Lobby. It is adhered with Crystal Effects (SU). I used the ticket corner punch (SU) to accent the corners of the Pretty in Pink layer, which I also ran a Cameo Coral stampin’ spot (SU) over. I made several of these cards also, each with a different shell and accent from Hobby Lobby (but same color and layout scheme).

Thanks for looking, and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

